News - Soap Buzz

18 December 11th, 2012 44th Annual NAACP Image Award Nominations Announced! GH’s Valdez, Y&R’s Conwell, And B&B’s Lloyd New Faces Among Nominees!

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Nominees were announced today for the 44th Annual NAACP Image Awards! The awards celebrates the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors. Winners will be announced during the two-hour star-studded event, which will air live on Friday, February 1, 2013 (8:00 p.m. ET live/PT tape-delayed) on NBC.

This year there were some new faces in the two daytime drama acting categories with General Hospital’s Erik Valdez (Trey) scoring a nod as well as Angell Conwell (Leslie) of The Young and the Restless, and Kristolyn Lloyd (Dayzee) of The Bold and the Beautiful giving some of the usual suspects a run for their money!   However, the bulk of the daytime  nominations went to performers from The Young and the Restless and The Bold and the Beautiful.   Check out the nominees below!

Actor in a Daytime Drama Series
Aaron D. Spears – “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
Erik Valdez – “General Hospital” (ABC)
James Reynolds – “Days of Our Lives” (NBC)
Kristoff St. John – “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Rodney Saulsberry – “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)

Photo Credit: Kathy Hutchins

Actress in a Daytime Drama Series
Angell Conwell – “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Julia Pace Mitchell – “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)
Kristolyn Lloyd – “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS)
Shenell Edmonds – “One Life to Live” (ABC)
Tatyana Ali – “The Young and the Restless” (CBS)

So if you were casting your ballot, who would you vote for from the nominees and why?  Let us know!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. MK says:

    Now, can GH please keep Trey!


  2. Torrey says:

    Shenell Edmonds from OLTL should win her category hands down….One, she’s the only one that had an on-going storyline, Two she was great with the story that was giving to her…..And Three, it’s about time OLTL win something.


    Tali Smith replied

    Amen Torrey!!


    susan M. replied



    Iakovos replied

    I agree totally.


  3. Rodd says:

    Shenell for the win!


  4. brian says:

    Shenell Edmonds from OLTL all the way.


  5. Liz says:

    I agree with you Torrey, 100%!


  6. ethel says:

    iwould pick shenell edmonds and james reynolds…………


  7. CTwildheart says:

    Oh my goodness, I SO hope Shenell wins! She did a fantastic job her entire tenure on OLTL – but last year especially so!


  8. Robert says:

    Why is Tatyana even nominated? She had NO story and brought NOTHING to the show!!! She wins every year for some unexplained reason. I like her but let’s get real people, stop wasting an award on someone who has not growth potential as an actor!


  9. Stevie B says:

    Angell Conwell is the winner for me. She didn’t have a main storyline but her court scenes made me watch and whenever she graced the screen she commands attention. Glad she’s in the running.


  10. Dmitri says:

    Reynolds deserves it. He had some great scenes around the time of Lexie’s death, and it was heartbreaking to watch that storyline.


  11. Lillian says:

    Leslie played by Angell Conwell from The Young and The Restless would get my vote. Love her acting and enjoy reading all of her interviews. And Kristoff should win his category.


  12. Iakovos says:

    All deserving actors but many in small or little-seen roles. It shows that there is a lack of diversity on our daytime dramas.


  13. Christy says:

    while I liked Valdez’s acting, I’d have to vote for Shenell, too! She did a great job and her character/storyline was much longer and more involved.


  14. shawn says:

    Why the hell isnt Renee Jones nominated for Actress??? She did a phenominal job as Lexie this year. I agree about Tatyana Ali. She had zero storyline, yet she’s nominated??? BS


  15. Krystal Meek says:

    @AngellConwell has been welcomed addition to Y&R. I hope she wins the Award this year.


Leave a comment