News - Soap Buzz

1 February 21st, 2010 Y&R wins WGA award for Best Daytime Serial!

Congratulations are in order today to the writing team of CBS’s top daytime serial The Young and the Restless .  The scribes won last night the Writers Guild of America Awards for Best Writing in a Daytime Serial. The WGA ceromonies were held on both coasts simultanously, at the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and the the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) .

The Y&R writers who received recognition for excellence were: Amanda L. Beall, Tom Casiello, Lisa Connor, Janice Ferri Esser, Eric Freiwald, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Beth Milstein, Natalie Minardi Slater, Melissa Salmons, Linda Schreiber, James Stanley, Sandra Weintraub, Teresa Zimmerman.  Current Y&R head writer, Maria Arena Bell along with scribe Hogan Sheffer were not among the recipients. The duo were ruled ineligible due to going fi-core during the WGA writer’s strike back in 2007-2008.


  1. SEAN says:

    I do not see how or why ynr could win for best writing when the writing for the show is not the best or even close to it. I stop watching the show months ago I only read the recapps on the mb and I have cut back on that, but from what I have been reading on the mbs I am not missing much a lot of other ppl feel the same way that I do and even thou MAB/HS did not get an award they still are responsabile for the the s/l that are airing and they are not the BEST


Leave a comment